Premium Member

Default Reference Headphones

I am looking to get some good reference headphones. I'm asking this on the here because I need some that are going to do a good job reproducing bass frequencies. I've done a little research online, but thought I'd throw out a line and see what you all are using/recommending. I'd like to stay in the $100-150 range. Thanks!

Banned

I've been using these for about the past 4 years now. They sound amazing, but they're not quite as durable as I would like. I go through a new pair every year like clockwork. I use them at least 8 hours a day though (except weekends), so I guess that's not too bad.

http://www.amazon.com/Vic-Firth-Ster...ion+headphones

I have the ATH-M50 from Audio-Technica...Happy...

I agree with Franco. I've had the Audio-Technica ATH-M50 headphones for over a year now and they've been great. You can usually get them for under $120 on Amazon.

Premium Member

The ATH-M50 is at the top of list for closed headphones under $200. If you want something lighter/open, GRADO SR60's or 90's are within your budget.

I've alway bought Sony and never had problems.....last pair was MDR-V700 bought 12 years ago and still going strong.....

Hello,

I have for ages a Beydynamic DT150.. not the most trendy product, but a strong quality, reliable (parts from cable to earpads can be replaced) product
    http://www.thomann.de/fr/beyerdynamic_dt150.htm

Luc
    Bass : Precision American Std (2009) / Godin SD4 (2001) / Warwick Corvette Std MIG (2007) - Markbass Littlemark 250
    Guitar : Epiphone ES-335 (1970) Cherry / Session Sessionnette75 (British amp 1987) / Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin / Cort L100

Premium Member

Thanks everybody! Those all look like good options. I've also heard good things about the AKG K240's... any opinions on those?

Premium Member

Hey Chad -