PDA

View Full Version : Best Living Bass Player

jbooth
06-13-2013, 12:24 PM
Hey Guys,

Just wondering who everyone thinks the best living bass player is? Victor Wooten has my vote, but I'm just getting into the world of bass so would like to check out the other greats. GO!

mattbrown
06-13-2013, 12:28 PM
Flea

CraigMR76
06-13-2013, 12:52 PM
The first ones that come to mind are:

Geddy Lee, Billy Sheehan, David Ellefson, Steve Harris, Les Claypool and John Paul Jones.

jweele01
06-13-2013, 04:30 PM
Tough one.. I'd probably go for either Victor Wooten, Larry Graham, or Jonas Hellborg. Les Claypool is amazing too, but pretty much a Graham^2. ;)

graeme_h
06-13-2013, 04:37 PM
Mike Watt must be up there somewhere!

Danny.Morris
06-13-2013, 05:42 PM
Mike Watt must be up there somewhere!

check out Willie Weeks...and Oteil Burbridge
Willie plays for lots of folks..you can catch him touring with Eric Clapton these days..Oteil you can hear on tour with the Allman Bros. Band

graeme_h
06-13-2013, 05:50 PM
Did Willie Weeks do some stuff with Pink Floyd or am I thinking of someone else?

mgap
06-13-2013, 08:55 PM
This is such a easy one Chris Squire IS the best of the best. Made some of the best music to this day along side Jon Anderson, Rick Wakeman, and Steve Howe. Played a Rickenbacker.

dj.phillips
06-14-2013, 01:23 AM
Pino Palladino.

gedcoz
06-14-2013, 10:39 AM
Geddy Lee, Billy Sheehan, And Tony Levin

djmike
06-15-2013, 11:41 PM
What dj said... Pino Palladino. Effortless playing with sweet tone!

akijolive
07-21-2013, 06:22 PM
Geddy Lee, Flea and Les Claypool, all really great imo

gedcoz
07-21-2013, 10:31 PM
Geddy Lee

vikingblues
07-22-2013, 05:33 PM
Lots of very good bass players around. A couple of them not yet mentioned are Tal Wilkenfield (good enough to be Jeff Becks regular bass player and still not 30) and Mariusz Duda (Riverside).

jimgarvey
07-22-2013, 07:05 PM
Bryan Bellar!! Case closed !!

Jim

wizard fingers
07-22-2013, 07:48 PM
Billy Sheenan