Basic Member

Default Advice on Direction to Go

Hi All,

I have been playing off and on for about 5 years, bluegrass, blues, a little rock. I have mostly just played chords and rhythm and want to increase my knowledge and skills to be able to play lead. I almost always play without a pick, and would also like to embrace finger style as I find it very rich sounding. I am torn as if I jump into fingerstyle lessons by Deeming, or focus on some lead playing lessons. Just confused on how to spend my time and energies. Though, there is great lessons and information on the site, I am finding it hard as to where to point myself, to get the most growth. Any ideas would be helpful. I have done lots of lessons with Hawkeye and love them!

Quote Originally Posted by moppenrow View Post
    Hi All,

I have been playing off and on for about 5 years, bluegrass, blues, a little rock. I have mostly just played chords and rhythm and want to increase my knowledge and skills to be able to play lead. I almost always play without a pick, and would also like to embrace finger style as I find it very rich sounding. I am torn as if I jump into fingerstyle lessons by Deeming, or focus on some lead playing lessons. Just confused on how to spend my time and energies. Though, there is great lessons and information on the site, I am finding it hard as to where to point myself, to get the most growth. Any ideas would be helpful. I have done lots of lessons with Hawkeye and love them!