Premium Member

Default 7 Dominant Chords

Hello all,

This is my first time posting on here, this seems like a great resource! If anyone could help clarify some things for me I have the following questions regarding dominant 7 chords:

I have read that one can use Dom 7th chords for ALL chords in a blues progression, is this true and if so does it change the key? Also why would this be specific to blues and not music in general?

I have also read that typically the 7th major chord is a good substitue for the 5th chord in a Major chord progression...is there any theory reason as to why it can't be used for the 1,2,3,4,6 etc. chords? Also, where does the 7th major chord fit into minor chord progressions?

Is it a major chord? If so than I am a bit confused as their a both 7th Dom chords and 7th Major chords.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

Quote Originally Posted by Paaron85 View Post
    Hello all,

This is my first time posting on here, this seems like a great resource! If anyone could help clarify some things for me I have the following questions regarding dominant 7 chords:

I have read that one can use Dom 7th chords for ALL chords in a blues progression, is this true and if so does it change the key? Also why would this be specific to blues and not music in general?

I have also read that typically the 7th major chord is a good substitue for the 5th chord in a Major chord progression...is there any theory reason as to why it can't be used for the 1,2,3,4,6 etc. chords? Also, where does the 7th major chord fit into minor chord progressions?

Is it a major chord? If so than I am a bit confused as their a both 7th Dom chords and 7th Major chords.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!
    You have a couple of question here
    1. Can you use Dom 7th chord for ALL chords in Blues Progression? and does that change the key.