Thread: learning the major scales

Premium Member

Default learning the major scales

i was wondering, from your lesson earlier this week you said "it starts and ends with the major scales" you see I'm quite new to theory, and it does seem a little overwhelming.( to say the least) i am starting with c major.and for my own understanding all scales stem from the majors with slight differences flat 7th ect so once I've learned the major scales I'm on my way. is that it ? or am i way off

Premium Member

Hi Tom,

I don't know a ton of theory, but as I understand it, everything is derived from the major scales.

The major scale can be found by using the formula Whole, Whole, Half, Whole, Whole, Whole, Half. Most people start with the C major scale because there are no sharps or flats (C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C). Once you know the major scale you can apply formulas to that to figure out chords and scales.

For example, the formula for a major chord is 1-3-5 so a C major chord is C-E-G. The formula for a major pentatonic scale is 1-2-3-5-6-1, so C major pentatonic is C-D-E-G-A-C.

I've found the David Walliman's lessons on interval theory helpful.

Login to JamPlay.com | Member Area

Cheers,

Craig

Basic Member

Not to be obnoxious, but we have to remember that the major scale is a 'western' thing, whereas the pentatonic is found throughout the world. Plus there are a few scales that are not related to the major scale, such as the chromatic or the whole tone scale. So, although I get what Emil's saying, and he's not pointing you in the wrong direction, that's for sure, feel free to challenge him on his comments, I'd say.

You don't need to know all the major scales to be 'on your way' - just what it the major scale is as above it is most often described as taking the pattern WWHWWWH.