PDA

View Full Version : About use Classic Guitar !

fire heart
01-29-2008, 09:40 AM
Hi Mr.Jim !
I'm 18 years old and I'm a beginner.
As I know, Classic Guitarists will play with Classic Guitar, but in your lesson, you play with Acoutic Steel string Guitar or Rock Guitar. What is different ??

Fire Heart

Jim.Deeming
01-29-2008, 03:19 PM
Hello Fire Heart,

I suspect your question stems from a couple references on the instructor profiles that my favorite genre is "Classic". I need to get that changed, as I'm not really sure what that even means.

"Classical", which IS a genre, and is also the style of guitar you are asking about, is not the style I play. Having said that, I DO occasionally use a classical guitar, when the mood or the song dictates. I can count on one hand the number of songs I play that would be considered classical songs, but the nylon strings and wide neck of a classical guitar are a nice fit for a lot of songs I play.

What kind of guitar and style are you learning?

Jim

mattbrown
01-29-2008, 04:29 PM
Yeah, I noticed that too. Maybe it means that Jim is a real "classic" guy. His personality is timeless.

I am a classical guitarist. Although I haven't taught any classical lessons on the site, and most likely never will, classical guitar is my primary area of expertise.

Here's some guidance regarding your question:

If you're playing classical repertoire, play it on a nylon string classical. The nylon string is also used for stuff like flamenco and Brazilian jazz. Occasionally, rock and folk players will play some stuff on a nylon string if a certain passage calls for that specific sound. "Unforgiven" by Metallica is one example that comes to mind.